Reverse Engineering – Worth it?

Posted: September 16, 2011 in Reverse Engineering

Well, how do I start! :-/

A long time ago, Zubin once motivated me to join him in reverse engineering. Well, at first I was like “WTH, I have better stuff to do”. I started looking at it anyway, starting from reverse engineering WIN32 executables. Initially, the look of instructions with their opcodes made my head swirl, but then when i actually started understanding it, it was no big deal! Seriously, every program which I have written till now is just a series of “mov”s, “add”s, “sub”s, “lea”s, “call”s, “jmp*”s and definitely a lot of “nop”s.Ā  šŸ˜›

When it came to debugging, I didn’t know ‘abc’ of it! Initially googling it up gave me “Ollydbg”, “Immunity Debugger”, etc. Tried all, not very appealing to an end user. But along came the king – IDA Pro! Phew, that is one damn good debugger that I’ve worked with till date. Man, it almost puts the cake in your mouth! šŸ˜€ The view of an entire program with graphs reduced the complexity in a reverser’s brain to almost nothing!

Anyway, back to the point. When I tried reversing applications, I had found so much of information and vulnerabilities in code which I don’t think is possible any other way! From my experience, reverse engineering is definitely worth it!

“Coding a program is one thing, knowing how it works is an entirely different thing – A true programmer knows both.”

Leave a Reply

